The Swisher County Museum maintains collections of ranch and farm artifacts. A five-room house, rebuilt inside the main exhibit hall, is furnished with pieces from the early 1900s. A replica of the J.O. Bass Blacksmith Shop is also located in main exhibit hall and features Bass' tools and equipment. Other displays include military artifacts, needle art, Santa Fe Railroad and Native American artifacts, as well as exhibits featuring Quanah Parker and Col. Ronald Mackenzie. Written, oral and video histories of the county are maintained, as well as an outstanding photographic history of early life in the area. Outside exhibits include the 1917 Jowell House, (including its outhouse) furnished with 1930s artifacts.
Meet the Team
Here are the people who work to make the Swisher County Archives and Museum better every single day - serving the entire region with education and fun family experiences that enrich lives and broaden the understanding of our history and the rich culture of the various Swisher County Communities. We welcome questions and suggestions as we work to grow this valuable community resource.
Mary is a great help to our organization and she helps schedule tours and also check people in at the front desk, as well as provide service for the gift shop we have that features a lot of different historic collectibles, books by local authors, and other fun items.
Frank Reeves has been named the new curator by the Museum Board of Directors. Frank was born and raised in Tulia and is a 1974 Graduate of THS. He then went on to pursue a Bachelor of Science degree from West Texas State College. Indians and the Red River War are his passion and he offers tours and talks at the museum. Frank is eager to preserve the history of his hometown.
List of Board Members:
Contact us today for information on how you can become involved and learn more about our rich history in Swisher County!